Aynu Itak - Ainu Language

A forum for guides, lessons and sharing of useful information.
Täzari
hieroglyphic
hieroglyphic

Aynu Itak - Ainu Language

Post by Täzari »

Hello everybody!

I'm new on this forum and I am very pleased to see that there is a "teach and share" section which is full of really interesting posts about language learning. Most of all I am very happy to see that, along with the most common languages such as German, Swedish or French, there are many threads that deal with minority languages.

I've been studying Ainu for about three years now and I really like it! Unfortunately the Ainu language is facing a very hard time trying to stay alive: it doesn't receive enough support from the Japanese government and the people who are actually willing to study it are few... But this is never a good reason to give up! Every single language has its beauty that deserves to be enjoyed no matter what is the present situation or actual production of that language..... At least, this is my thinking!

So, long story short, would any of you be interested in knowing something more about the Ainu language? [;)] If I receive positive answers I will start to post about it very soon!

Thanks for you attention! [:D]
Native: :ita: - Proficient: :eng: :jpn: - Learning: :ain: :rus: Nivkh - Some notions of: Sanskrit, :dan: :isl: :lat: - Conlang: :con: Lözusöteli
Micamo
MVP
MVP

Re: Aynu Itak - Ainu Language

Post by Micamo »

How much do you know about the (extinct) non-Shizunai dialects?
My pronouns are <xe> [ziː] / <xym> [zɪm] / <xys> [zɪz]

My shitty twitter
Täzari
hieroglyphic
hieroglyphic

Post by Täzari »

Micamo wrote:How much do you know about the (extinct) non-Shizunai dialects?
The dialect I've been studying is the Saru dialect and since one year I'm spending my time also on the Sakhalin Rayciska dialect.... I've translated several texts as part off my future PhD research..... I guess I can be of some help for anyone who may want to learn a little Ainu!