linguistics knowledge requirement question

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
Mario Lord
rupestrian
rupestrian

linguistics knowledge requirement question

Post by Mario Lord »

Hey again all, been a while since I was last here but I decided to come back for a visit at least. My question for you guys is; roughly how long it took you guys to learn the minimum amount of stuff about linguistics to be able to make a proper conlang?

..You see i'v made a few 'conlangs' and posted 2-3 of em here but I notice they are perhaps not on the same level as you guys's hehe. Mine have always simply been making a collection of words, pronunciations for each letter, and an alphabet & orthography. Whenever I look at the other conlangs on this site I see they are a lot more advanced with all sorts of linguistic terminology here and there which I have no experience with, all sorts of special phonological curiosities and whatnot, so I'm wondering how long it'd take me to become familiar with all this terminology and skills you all have so that I too could make like a proper conlang. Also what things I would have to learn, like I don't exactly have the time/will to do an entire linguistics degree lol. Thanks in advance for replies
Check out my forum (still in beta) for all sorts of interesting dicussions :)

http://lev.prophpbb.com/
Micamo
MVP
MVP

Re: linguistics knowledge requirement question

Post by Micamo »

There's no such thing as a "proper conlang." If there is, then nobody in the history of humanity has ever made one. The linguistics knowledge you require is howevermuch you need before your work begins to meet or exceed your own standards, which only you can set.
My pronouns are <xe> [ziː] / <xym> [zɪm] / <xys> [zɪz]

My shitty twitter
sangi39

Post by sangi39 »