Beginner's Conundrum

If you're new to these arts, this is the place to ask "stupid" questions and get directions!
Sabe
rupestrian
rupestrian

Beginner's Conundrum

Post by Sabe »

Okay, I am basically a newborn in the realm of linguistics, and I'm stumbling through like a six and a half ton elephant trying to pick up the slack where I think one of my favorite films and comics missed a great opportunity, Black Panther. I think it was really cool hearing Xhosa, but the nerd/fanboy in me was really hoping for a Wakandan conlang. So, months back, before the release of the film, I started work on such a task. However, I have no background in linguistics, barely an understanding of terms and phonology. But I also really want to do this. The last few days I've put some more work into it, chosen a word order(which, I'm such an amateur I hadn't stopped to figure that out and had gone right to forming words or roots, well trying to find them).

At the beginning, I had a great bias in favor of the Lake Turkana location of Wakanda. So I started by deciding it would be an Afroasiatic language. More research I did, it seemed a really good idea since Wakanda's foundation myth, according to Jack Kirby's run, dates to 10,000 BC and proto Afroasiatic would have been spoken at the time. Using google to try finding roots, I found a list that looked like I could make out names like Wakanda from. And when I did it, even after fixing word order, the meaning is quite apt(place where the rock fell).

But I've recently begun to doubt where I started from.