Nederano - a jump into the deep end!

A forum for all topics related to constructed languages
Constructor
hieroglyphic
hieroglyphic

Nederano - a jump into the deep end!

Post by Constructor »

OK, folks. this is my first project going anywhere past a cipher. I am NOT a linguist, just a hobbyist, so this thread will be a much-evolving thing, with just as many questions as rules. So, please jump in with some thoughts.

My aim is to bend aspects of Spanish with aspects of Dutch, and of course have something original come of it. I'm not sure in what percentages or ways yet, but maybe that will become more clear as I complete the various steps within this.

To start out, I have my orthography, which is not complete yet. I'm unsure about certain letters' sounds, and any exceptions that will be implemented (all languages have them!).

• consonants
    B
    CH [x]
    D [d]
    F [f]
    D [d] (Probably [t] after a preceding consonant)
    F [f]
    G [ɣ]
    H [h]
    J [y]
    K [k]
    L [l]
    M [m]
    N [n]
    NJ
    P [p]
    QU [ku]
    R [r] [ɾ]
    S
    SCH [x? probably not. When I hear Schiphol airport being pronounced, it seems somewhat like a Swedish "skj"]
    T [t]
    V [v]
    W [ʋ]
    X [ks]
    Z [z]

• vowels
    A [ɑ]
    E [ɛ]
    I
    O [oː]
    U
    EE
    OUW [ʌw]
    Y [ɛj]

I have read articles on conjugation, both in Spanish and Dutch. Neither are very easy, but Dutch seems more complicated by a mile. I think my other main curiosities at this point is the article in its various forms, and gender. I have no interest in having male and female words, but my impression was that gender went beyond that linguistically.

ETA: Pardon my lack of proper tables. I don't know how to do that.

ETA 24/08/11 6:51 am: Settled on R being either an alveolar trill or flap, depending on position. Noted.
Last edited by Constructor on 24 Aug 2011 15:52, edited 1 time in total.
eldin raigmore
korean
korean

Re: Nederano - a jump into the deep end!