Daas

A forum for all topics related to constructed languages
Kesshin
hieroglyphic
hieroglyphic

Daas

Post by Kesshin »

Daas is an artlang for a world building project I've been working on for around 5 years now(at time of posting). I've been trying to make it as realistic as possible, by working on the writing system and conjugations.
For most of those years, I had never even heard of conlanging, so I hope you'll bear with me if I seem like a chaotic mess.

Consonants(IPA):
Nasal: m, n
Edit: Added missing plosives:
Plosive: p, t, k, ʔ, b, d
Fricative: s,  ʂ, x', h, v, z, ʒ
Approximant: L, ɹ, j, w
(debated)Tap: r

Vowels:
ɑ, ɛ, i, o, u:
(technically, that x' above is used as a vowel phonotactically, but linguistically it is a consonant)
Also, /x'/ has an allophone of [ɣ] when near /i/ or /j/.

The general word order of Daas is actually undecided.

Inner Workings:
Spoiler:
Like languages such as aUI, Daas is oligosynthetic and each sound has a meaning. However, some sounds, like "k" are used more as narrowers(?), as they narrow down the definition.
For example:
Kae = rock(s)
k = an element of
a = a mountain, a volcano
e = a collection, a group, common
The most common element of a mountain would be a rock.

However, it may get confusing with longer, more complex words, like:
Harati
h= sound, echo
a= warm (musical definition used due to context)
r= regal, fancy
a= good (good definition used due to context)
t= straight
i= leave (again, movement definition due to context)
As far as I know, aUI doesn't really consider this possibility of too many concepts mixing to be understood.

Since this would be really hard to parse without a kind of concept divider, I made one that lets characters combine into concepts before fully being a word.
Ha= a warm, good sound (of music)
ra= royal(good connotation)
ti= emit, create, form
Ha'ra'ti would be a type of instrument used in royal contexts. It sounds similar to a koto, but is slightly more resonant.
Conjugation
Spoiler: